All I Want for Christmas Is….

…all the kitties to have safe, loving homes.  And this year, Tinker has just that!!  Late Christmas Eve, Tinker arrived at his new home with his new mommy, Marti.  So, how did he get there?  Here’s how….

It was around December 11th and Kelly Pusskitty (yes, that’s a pseudonym) had rescued the teeniest, tiniest little black kitty and posted a picture.  Marti Eno KNEW that he was meant for her.

 

The Facebook wall of the Underground Railroad Rescued Kitty Network exploded with plans to transport Mr. Handsome Kittypants (or MHK, as he was then known) from Tennessee to New York.  The “transport doc” was created on December 13th and the plans slowly fell into place.

On December 20th, Kelly took MHK to get microchipped.  Poor little dude was a little afraid of what that meant.

Soon, he realized it was just a way to make sure that he would get home safe if something happened during his travels, and all was okay in his world again.

The big day arrived!  December 23rd, MHK was on the road!!  Deanna Kaye Kendall picked MHK up from Kelly and took him from Tennessee to Kentucky.  Here he is getting ready to hit the road!

Deanna handed MHK off to Noelle Blihgsne who took him from Kentucky to Ohio where he would be spending the night at Anita Gram’s “bed and breakfast.   According to Noelle, “he was a perfect gentleman.  He never even meowed, just purred and sat in my lap most of the way.”

Now,  Anita had the perfect plan for MHK’s night at her house.  Around 12:30am on Christmas Eve, she posted “Mr. Handsome Kittypants is safe and sound, chowing down in his own little ‘bed and breakfast’.”  And then….”the first visit I made to check on my guest, I found him sitting at eye level on the middle shelf of my etagere, little paw on his hip, impatiently tapping his little paw foot. He was not pleased. ‘Ms. Gram, do you know who you’re dealing with here? I am Mr. Handsome Kittypants and these isolated lodgings are not to my liking. I am accustomed to 24/7 attention and adoration and I wish to roam freely in this establishment to investigate all it has to offer and to garner the minimal amounts of lovin’ that I’ve become accustomed to! I’m not a happy kitty. What do you intend to do?'”  Oh boy!!  Now what?!?!?  Seeing how Anita has three furry children of her own, she knew that MHK would have to stay confined in his ow luxurious accomodations for peace in the home to be maintained.  In the morning she went to check on him and “I had no earthly idea of the challenge that awaited me. Mr. Handsome Kittypants had morphed into Mr. Handsome Hissypants and was awaiting me with the full arsenal of his discontent. Ms. Kelly Pusskitty had inquired as to whether anyone had fitted him with his harness so I ‘attempted’ to fulfill that bidding. That proved to be a tremendously wrong decision and made my star guest even more dismayed and determined to leave me permanently scarred as a reminder of my hosting failures! What ensued cannot be aptly put into words! Suffice it to say, I would have done well to have donned Sir Lancelot’s suit of armor!  It was time for Becca to call and I was now in a state of sheer panic; I was never going to successfully get the totally incensed Mr. Hissypants back into his carrier! I put out the call for reinforcements, my neighbor, rousing her from the deep slumber that a 2nd shift nurse should be allowed to enjoy … without having to start her day enbroiled in the wild antics of a totally out-of-control pussycat and a breathless, sweaty hostess failure! Before she arrived … SUCCESS! I won’t broach the subject of how that was accomplished; no physical harm to either party was incurred, but … it wasn’t pretty! I’m quite certain, too, that I was addressed with a few rather choice kitty curse words, the likes of which have never crossed my ears before!  With no time to spare, I quickly called Becca to announce our departure, and Mr. Picture of Sweet Innocence Kittypants now once again allowed me to speak to him without a barrage of abuse, and I even ventured to stick my digit into his carrier and ‘bop’ his nose without pulling back a bloody stub!”  MHK was successfully handed off to Becca Steinberg for the leg of his journey that would take him to his new mommy!!  Even after ALL of that adventure, Anita said “I’d still do it again … :)”  (Good to know, because hope to have many more kitties traveling and you never know when one might have to go through that part of Ohio again!!

So, it’s now Christmas Eve and Becca has MHK safely in her car, headed to meet Marti!!

It was around 5:30ish on Christmas Eve when Marti met MHK for the first time….Becca captured this shot

For the record, Marti LOVES this picture of the back of her head!! After making the transfer, Marti and her new furbaby headed for home.

Keep in mind, it was Christmas Eve, but almost all of the URRKN members were glued to their computers, tablets, smartphones and any other devices with internet access waiting for the first post from Marti after she and MHK arrived home.  And then it came!  Around 10:30pm (EST), Marti posted that she and Tinker (MHK’s new name) were home and that in an hour he had explored his new home, played with some toys, nommed on some food and was seeming to adjust pretty quickly.  YAY!!!  It was the news we were all anxiously awaiting!!  Just after midnight (Christmas Day!)we got our first glimpse of Tinker in his new digs

  I don’t know about you, but I think he looks pretty darn comfortable!!!  What a great Christmas present for both Marti and Tinker!

A great big thank you to Kelly, Deanna, Noelle, Anita and Becca!  Their generosity at what is probably one of the busiest times of the year – when traffic is at its worst and families are at their craziest – made all of this possible!

While Marti and Tinker enjoy their first day together, we’re still waiting (with baited breath) for Cinders to make the final leg of her journey to Florida and her new family!  Once she’s there, updates will be posted!!

Merry Christmas and Happy Hannukah to all, and to all a Good Day!!

Choo choo!!!

 

Approximate miles traveled to get home: 834

4 thoughts on “All I Want for Christmas Is….

  1. Tinker is settling in pretty well. I took apart the carrier (thanks Kelly), and washed the fear smell out of it. He has eaten, played, explored, and is now sleeping ON the chair under which I put his brand new kitty bed-go figure.

  2. I am glad he got there safe and sound. I will say, with hesitance at being slapped down again, that the transfer process would have gone easier for him with the use of some Bach Floral Essences which are perfectly safe for long term use in human or animal barring allergy which can happen from anything.
    Not surprised he chose the top of the chair, kitties either den or go for high ground when they sleep….and the tale of him being at eye level on the etager sounds like Mr Tink is a high grounder. There are essences to help change that btw, as there are for most behaviors. I hope you have the means and the room to get him a condo someday since one doesn’t change behaviors that are normal without good reason.
    Happy Yuletide to the both of you.
    ps….I wouldn’t be such a pill about the essences, but I am on the side of animal welfare here. Not enough folks know or understand that these are perfectly safe and effective substances, unlike many medications (like tranquilizers) which could from a vet. I will say that I am also in favor of Felliway. Some folks have recorded it didn’t help…but others have said it does. My experience….helpful.

  3. Tinker was such a pleasure to have here! He was the perfect house guest. I miss the little guy but am very happy that he’s in a good forever home. I know Marti will treat him with great care and respect and give him lots of deserved loving. I’m also glad that she’ll be sharing pics of him while he grows. It will almost seem like he’s just next door! I’ll have to say I fell in love with the little fella and Marti is very lucky that my (almost) 19 year old cat had to be considered in the decision to keep him or find him a good home. If not for Pusskitty, Tinker would be my kitty. But as the senior in the house, Puss takes priority. So really, a win/win situation. Congratz Marti! You have yourself a jewel of a cat there!

Comments are closed.